Strong Geomagnetic S3 Solar Radiation Storm In Progress

Space Weather Update – Strong Solar Radiation Storm In Progress

 Ongoing Moderate Solar Radiation Storm has intensified to a Strong event. Activity should stay at this level for the next few hours, then likely take another jump ahead of a Coronal Mass Ejection (CME) that is expected to occur overnight. This increase is not expected to exceed the S3 level. The CME is forecast to set off Strong Geomagnetic Storm activity through Friday. Watch for Auroras!

solarstorm_small Strong Geomagnetic S3 Solar Radiation Storm In Progress

 The ongoing S2 (Moderate) Solar Radiation Storm has intensified to an S3 (Strong) event as of 2320 UTC (6:20 p.m. EST) today, January 8. Protons should stay at this same approximate level for the next few hours, then likely take another jump with the passage of the shock ahead of the CME, expected to occur around 0900 UTC (4:00 a.m. EST) tomorrow, January 9. However, this increase is not expected to exceed the S3 level. The CME is forecast to set off G3 (Strong) Geomagnetic Storm activity through January 9 and 10. Aurora watchers should be ready; updates here as things unfold.


New Space Weather Education and Outreach Resources – NOW AVAILABLE! Follow this link.

http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/index.html

 

Tags:, , ,