11 Democrats Who Vow To RESIST Trump!

Aaron Bandler,

The stunning upset victory of President-elect Donald Trump was clearly too much to take for many leftist Democrats. Unwilling to accept Trump as the legitimate president, a number of them have pledged to resist Trump at all costs. Below are 11 Democrats who have vowed to lead the “resistance” against the democratically elected president.

1. Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA). Lee has said that she will boycott Trump’s inauguration because he “rode racism, sexism, xenophobia and bigotry to the White House.”

“On Inauguration Day, I will not be celebrating,” said the Congresswoman. “I will be organizing and preparing for resistance.”

2. Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL). Gutierrez will also be boycotting Trump’s inauguration “because he continues to spew hatred, bigotry and prejudice.”

“I don’t want to turn back the clock to when women were in the kitchen and gays were in the closet and people like me and immigrants and migrants to this community were told to be quiet and couldn’t have a voice,” an unhinged Gutierrez said on CNN’s New Day. “Too many people marched and protested and we created a society in which there were new voices added to it, and I think he just wants to quash those voices.”

Gutierrez, a vitriolic amnesty hack, will likely be one of the leaders of the Trump resistance.

3. Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA). Huffman announced in a Facebook post that he too will not be attending Trump’s inauguration, since it will be the start of a “dark and dangerous chapter” in the country’s history.

chuck_schumer_small 11 Democrats Who Vow To RESIST Trump! Democratic Party

“I will do everything I can to limit the damage and duration of this chapter, and I believe we can get through it,” Huffman wrote. “But I will not sit passively and politely applaud as it begins.”

4. Rep. Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ). Grijalva declared on the floor of the House on Friday that he will be spending time with his constituents in Arizona instead of going to the inauguration.

“My absence is not motivated by disrespect for the office or motivated by disrespect for the government that we have in this great democracy,” Grijalva said. “But as an individual act, yes, of defiance, at the disrespect shown to millions and millions of Americans by this incoming administration and by the actions we are taking in this Congress. Rather than participate in the inauguration, I will be participating in my district and reaffirming and renewing this democracy and the people that are part of it.”

5. Rep. John Lewis (D-GA). Lewis told NBC’s Chuck Todd that he can’t bring himself to go to Trump’s inauguration because he doesn’t view Trump as “a legitimate president.”

“I think the Russians participated in helping this man get elected,” Lewis said. “And they helped destroy the candidacy of Hillary Clinton.”

It will be the first time Lewis will be skipping a presidential inauguration in the 30 years he has been in Congress.

“You cannot be at home with something that you feel that is wrong, is not right,” Lewis said.

6. Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA). Clark announced in a statement on Jan. 5 that she won’t be attending Trump’s inauguration.

“I had hoped the President-elect would use the transition period and his appointments to change course and fulfill his promise to be a President for all Americans; however, this has not been the case,” Clark said. “After discussions with hundreds of my constituents, I do not feel that I can contribute to the normalization of the President-elect’s divisive rhetoric by participating in the Inauguration.”

7. Eric Holder. Holder has been hired by California’s state legislature for advice on challenging the Trump administration’s policies in court, especially on the issues of “immigration, climate change, the environment and voting rights.”

“With the upcoming change in administrations, we expect that there will be extraordinary challenges for California in the uncertain times ahead,” Democratic Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León and Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon said. “This is a critical moment in the history of our nation. We have an obligation to defend the people who elected us and the policies and diversity that make California an example of what truly makes our nation great.”

In other words, Holder will be resisting Trump in court and use the activists in the judiciary as a buffer against Trump.

8. Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY). Schumer has shown a willingness to work with Trump on certain issues in which Trump’s policy interests align with the Democrats, but he has also said he will work to stonewall some of Trump’s nominees and even keep the open Supreme Court seat vacant.

9. George Soros. About a week after Trump’s election, the evil puppetmaster of the Democratic Party met with a bunch of other wealthy leftist Democrats to discuss how “to resist Trump” and “take back power.” Much of the discussion was focusing on how to keep President Barack Obama’s policies in place. 

10. Michael Moore. The far-left filmmaker has revealed a five-step plan for resisting Trump, and as Daily Wire editor-in-chief Ben Shapiro explains, “It is predictably stupid.”

11. Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN). Ellison, who is vying to become chairman of the Democratic National Committee, has said that in the House “all there is to do is to vote ‘no.'” He will be rallying House Democrats to do nothing but vote against Trump’s policy agenda items, apparently no matter how much they help Americans.

Follow Aaron Bandler on Twitter @bandlersbanter.